News Archive


Back-to-back bridesmaid finishes in the past two years have become the biggest motivator for Japanese motocross ace Tomoya Suzuki to reclaim the Asian 125cc/MX2 diadem he won in the 2010 FIM Asia Motocross Championship (AMSC), Asia’s premiere championship event for the off-road motorcycle sport discipline. Fondly monickered “Kamikaze” for his exciting riding style, Suzuki will attempt to finally snap Thailand’s Arnon “Turbo” Theplib’s two-year stranglehold on the centerpiece event of the AMSC which unfolds in Puerto Princesa City this weekend, March 21-24.

For the tenth year in a row, Puerto Princesa City’s CEO Edward Hagedorn and his constituents are the major benefactor and host of the Philippine leg of the 2013 FIM Asia Motocross Supercross Championship. Other sponsors of the event being promoted by Extremeworx and organized by the National Motorcycle Sports and Safety Association (NAMSSA) are Repsol, HJC Helmets, Shakeys, Du Ek Sam Inc. Puerto Princesa, Honda Prestige Puerto Princesa, Asia Brewery Inc. and Otto Shoes. The event is also supported by the Department of Tourism and recognized by the Philippine Sports Commission and the Philippine Olympic Committee. Mayor Hagedorn, the event’s guest-of-honor, will do the ceremonial flag-off after the short opening ceremony set on Sunday morning.

Riders, teams and officials from Guam, Australia, Sri Lanka, Mongolia, Hong Kong, Japan, Thailand, New Zealand, United Kingdom and the Philippines have confirmed their participation promising an exciting action-filled weekend for motorsports fans. Local riders and teams will have their heyday in the races marking Round 2 of the 2013 National Motocross Development Program, NAMSSA’s grassroots development competition platform for motocross.

The running battle between Thailand and Japan is expected to turn a tad more interesting with the able support they will be getting from their wingmen, Thai moto sensation Jugkrit Suksripaisan and the 23-year old Japanese journeyman Hiroshi Kawamura. Nonetheless, the Philippines’ reigning National Motocross Rider of the Year Kenneth San Andres can never be counted out as he is considered the tournament’s darkhorse who is capable of pulling the rug from the Theplib and Suzuki.

Action in the Asian Junior category will be a toss-up between back-to-back Asian Junior 85cc title holder and recent Tony Siddayao Award recipient Mark Reggie Flores, 2012 Philippine National Junior 85cc champion Gabriel Macaso and Jacques Gunawardena from Sri Lanka.

Guam’s Stanley Yasuhiro will be opening his bid for back-to-back titles in the Asian Veterans category where he will be meeting the challenge posed by Mike Zolin, Gimo Gonzales and Junjun San Andres.

For more information on the FIM Asia Motocross Championship and other NAMSSA events and activities, visit and the NAMSSA Secretariat Facebook Page.

Please follow and like us: